Despite Everything..

Things are on the up and up at my house.

I’m still working on a post about my many thoughts regarding the recent election. But that’s proven to be more time consuming than I’d intended it to be when I first started it the night after. Needless to say, I’ve been in a funk for awhile now. I’ve had to take a break from my beloved IPR (that normally runs as background noise throughout the day) because I couldn’t handle how alien the rest of my country’s people are to me. I’m still having a hard time coming to terms with it. Politics aside, I’ve struggled (as you may have figured out from reading my previous blogs) with finding a balance between being a mom and being myself. But, I can tell you I’m making progress! So here’s an uplifting update from my household to yours. Because honestly I need some uplifting shit in my life right now and maybe you do too.

 
Our “contingency to sale” process is coming along, slowly, but surely. We’ve gotten the appraisal cleared and so we are another step closer to obtaining our forever home. I’m very much looking forward to being back in my hometown and closer to groceries, our family, and work. Now to just sell the house we’re in now. Time is ticking away as winter encroaches and I can only hope we have some luck here soon. Of course I am mostly looking forward to settling into the new house. It is just—perfection. Can’t. Wait. I hope it works out.

 
My application for graduate school has been completed and all letters of recommendation have been submitted. I am anxious to find out if graduate school is even a possibility for me at this point. It will prove to be difficult if I’m accepted now that I have accepted a position in my field part-time. I’m not sure if I am in a place to continue my education with the opportunities I have at the moment. Part-time work is really the best of both worlds for me, as I have 3 days at home with Sylvia. And that’s hard to beat work-wise. This is probably a better situation than I could have planned for, honestly. Until Sylvia’s in school, I will probably stay part-time unless I have found something that I love that pays enough to be worth it.

 
I think I have found a sitter for Sylvia for the mornings that I will be at work and what a relief that has been. Finding childcare is a full-time job, apparently. Most places have waiting lists, and many places have a flat weekly rate. Which isn’t cool since I’ll just need daycare 3 days a week. This gal has 2 kids herself and a dog (Sylvia LOVES dogs and animals in general). Sylvia should be a happy camper. I’m not looking forward to that first day though. I just need to think of it like my mom watching her. And I hope it all works out and I can truly enjoy my workdays knowing that she is happy and safe.

 

Generally, I am trying to keep focused on the positive things going on for us. I’m looking forward to my new job and that the organization is one that I can ethically align myself with. The hours are great. I love my co-workers I have met so far. The flexibility is going to be great. I’ll still be able to deliver packages on Sunday. I’ll have three days open to do activities with Sylvia and get things done around the house. The weather has been unusually nice for this late into fall here in Iowa. I’m looking forward to getting all of our leaves bagged and taken to the yard waste site in time for winter. That’s my project for the next couple days during naptime now that it’s dark by 5pm.

Author: Caitlyn

Artsy, crafty, history-conscious, earth-friendly, new mama.

Leave a Reply

